Shop Carmel

How to Deactivate Facebook & Other Social Media Accounts: A One-Stop Guide

Deactivating or deleting your account is a smart option when you no longer use a social networking profile. As a result, your material will no longer be available online and can no longer be found through a web search. It also eliminates the possibility of these accounts being used or hacked by unauthorized parties while you are away.

How to Deactivate Facebook?

If you want to know how to deactivate Facebook, you need to know that Facebook offers two options to its users:

  1. Deactivation of the account
  2. Deletion of the Account

By deactivating your Facebook account, you agree to the following:

  • You have complete control over whether or not it’s active. As a result, you’ll have access to your pictures, videos, contacts, and groups once again.
  • Unless you reactivate your account, no one will be able to view your timeline or locate you in a search.
  • There’s a chance that certain details may be left out (such as private messages you have sent).
  • Signing back into Facebook or logging in anywhere else with your Facebook account will bring your account back to life. To complete the reactivation, you’ll need access to either your email address or cell phone number.

To deactivate your account:

  • Click on the top right of your Facebook
  • Now Select the Setting & Privacy option and go to Settings
  • In the left column, choose Your Facebook Information
  • Click on Deactivation and Deletion
  • Select Deactivate Account and then select Continue to Account Deactivation and confirm

You may still use Messenger even if your Facebook account has been deactivated

  • Messenger is still available for chatting with pals.
  • In Messenger chats, your Facebook profile image will remain displayed.
  • Within Messenger, other users may send you a message by searching for you.

If you delete your Facebook account:

  • Once your account has been deleted, you will not be able to activate it again.
  • After 30 days, you will no longer be able to access or recover any information from your deleted account.
  • Everything you’ve contributed to your profile, including pictures, videos, and other media, will be permanently removed.
  • Facebook Messenger will be removed from your phone.
  • If you’ve joined up for Spotify or Instagram using your Facebook account, you won’t be able to check in with your Facebook credentials anymore. To regain access to such accounts, you may have to get in touch with the respective applications or websites.
  • Even after you delete your account, certain information, such as messages sent to friends, may remain accessible to them. You can find copies of the communications you’ve sent to your contacts in their inboxes.

To delete your Facebook account:

Click on Facebook’s top right.

  • Now Select the Setting & Privacy option and go to Settings
  • In the left column, choose Your Facebook Information
  • Click on Deactivation and Deletion
  • Select Permanently Delete Account & then select Continue to Account Deletion
  • Select Delete Account and enter your password.
  • Now click Continue to have it done.

Instagram

You can either permanently delete your account or temporarily disable it.

If your Instagram account is temporarily disabled:

  • Your pictures, comments, and likes will be made hidden, as well as your profile.
  • Logging back into your account will allow you to reactivate your account.

To temporarily disable your Instagram account:

  • Visit instagram.com on a mobile device or a desktop computer to get started. The Instagram app does not allow you to temporarily deactivate your account.
  • Select Edit Profile from the drop-down menu after clicking or tapping your profile image in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • After you’ve scrolled all the way down, click Temporarily disable my account.
  • Select a reason for disabling your account & re-enter your password.
  • Click on Temporary Disable Account and that’s it.

If you delete your Instagram account:

  • The information associated with your account will be deleted permanently.
  • The same username can’t be used to sign up for another account or be added to another account.
  • Accounts that have been deleted can never be reinstated.

To delete your Instagram account:

  • Use a mobile browser or a PC to go to the Delete Your Account section. You’ll be prompted to sign in if you aren’t already signed into Instagram on the web (you cannot delete your account from within the Instagram app).
  • Choose an answer to the question “Why are you deleting your account?” from the drop-down menu that appears. and retype your password to get access. After selecting a reason from the drop-down box, you’ll have the option to delete your account permanently.
  • Click on Permanently delete my account.

Twitter

When you deactivate your Twitter account, it gets permanently deleted after 30 days of inactivity. For the duration of this time period, your account will be deactivated on our site. You can’t deactivate your account using a mobile device. Instead, go to twitter.com.

Before you deactivate your account, please note that:

  • Your account may be reactivated 30 days from now by signing in. Your account will be permanently deleted if you do not log in or reactivate within 30 days.
  • To change your email address or username, you do not have to deactivate your account. These may be changed at any time in account settings.
  • You must create a new account using the same username or email address before deactivating your old one.

To deactivate your Instagram Account:

  • Go to twitter.com and sign in using your Twitter account.
  • Under your profile icon, choose Settings and Privacy from the menu.
  • Go to Account >  Deactivate your account.
  • Click Deactivate @username once you’ve read the account deactivation information and clicked Deactivate.
  • When asked, enter your password, and then click the Deactivate account button to confirm your action.

Snapchat

  • Snapchat allows you to only permanently delete your account. Your account will be deactivated for 30 days after you request the deletion.
  • Your friends will be unable to contact or engage with you on Snapchat for 30 days during this time. Your Snaps, Chats, and Stories will be permanently erased if you don’t respond within 30 days. Your username will also be removed from the system.

To delete your account:

  • Any web browser may be used to access this website. You can’t do it using the Snapchat App.
  • You’ll be prompted to enter your username and password
  • Then click Login and re-enter your login details.
  • Select At the bottom, click Delete my Account

If you change your mind within 30 days after proceeding to delete your account, you may reactivate it by logging in with your Snapchat username and password as you usually would. Your account will be reactivated and will not be terminated as a result.

TikTok

You may only delete your TikTok account permanently. It will be permanent and cannot be undone. An account that has been deleted cannot be retrieved at any time.

If you delete your TikTok account:

  • You can’t log in to TikTok with that account.
  • Video content you’ve uploaded will be removed from your account.
  • Your purchased items will be lost, and you won’t be given a refund.
  • Messages that you and others have exchanged may still be available to the other party.

To delete your TikTok account:

  • Go to the Profile section of your user interface.
  • In the upper-right corner, choose Settings.
  • Go to Manage my Account and then click on Delete Account
  • To delete your account, follow the steps

Conclusion

So this was all you needed to know how to deactivate Facebook and other popular social media accounts. Deactivating your account if you want to be inactive, is a good thing since people do not approach you during that time and your account is also prevented from being misused.

We hope that this one-stop guide was helpful for you.

Leave a Comment